Attach album art to folders

Hi, I’m new to this great software.

I got it to reorganise all my music by into Artist/Album/Song, which is epic.

For my clunky truck hard drive to display the album art, I need the album art metadata attached to the Album folder, whereas at the moment it sits with each individual Song.

Is there a way to do that?

Thanks!

In the options, under Cover Art, tick the box for “Save cover art images as separate files” and specify a filename that would work with your player.

3 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion. I have tried that. Unfortunately my truck system is too clunky to work with that. It relies on the album art being at the album folder level (I tried adding one manually to the album folder image and it worked).

Any idea how to automate that in MusicBrainz?

Can you show an example on how the file structure needs to be for your truck and how your files are named?

By default Picard will story the album art in the same folder as your files, so if you have one album folder with the songs as individual files it would place the album art in this album folder

1 Like

The file structure is:-

Artist (folder)
Album (folder)
Song(s) (mp3 files)

It will display the album art if I change the album icon to the album cover (I have to do that manually). It will not show the album art if I save the album art jpegs in the album folder alongside the mp3 files.

It’s a total pain.

This is probably where you have lost me :slight_smile: Is this also what you meant with “It relies on the album art being at the album folder level”?

Where and how exactly do you set this? Do you do this on your car system or on your computer? Are you using a specific tool for that? I originally assumed you would create a file in the album folder manually, but it sounds like you are doing something different.

1 Like

What did you call that file? cover.jpg or folder.jpg? or something else?

and folder.jpg?

Thanks for bearing with me!