All tracks are assigned the album title

Hi,
I’m new to MusicBrainz Picard and have already tagged several albums successfully.
I have encountered a problem with an album where track 4 has the sme name as the album name.
It seems to have performed the lookup correctly but after saving
It has assigned the album name to all the tracks.
Sorry if the titles are in French.

I don’t understand the second screenshot.

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

The problem seems to be that ALL the MP3 files have attached themselves to track 4. You need to manually drag each track to match 01,02,03,05,06, etc so you get a TICK for each one instead of the music notes.

The problem here is because your music files seem to be starting with the album name in all the file names and Picard doesn’t know how to match correctly. So Picard thinks they are all track 04 as it just sees the name of the fourth track ten times.

4 Likes

I think second screenshot is of the windows directory view of the files with a number of properties showing for each of the mp3 files. Ignoring the first file ( see below), it shows the Title of all the files to be the same, the title of track 4. This is why Picard is grouping them altogether as @IvanDobsky has identified. Manually removing them in windows (right click on each file and edit properties) or in Picard as suggested will fix it.

The first file is long and probably contains the entire album. Might be simpler to move it to a separate folder(directory)

3 Likes

@dpr :The windows directory screenshot is the result of the save in Picard that shows it has named all the tracks with the album title. The long file is the unsplit album. It wasn’t loaded into Picard but true, it would be better to move it esewhere…

@IvanDobsky : “You need to manually drag each track to match 01,02,03,05,06…” . Sorry, not sure what you mean. Could you explain? The unticked tracks already have track numbers.