After audio tagging, save only certain fields

Hi, newbie here to Picard scripting. I’m mainly using the program to use acoustic printing to find original release year and record label names for various files, many of which I’ve ripped from compilations and box sets. The acoustic procedure sends me back pretty much what I want, but way too much. It seems cumbersome to manually only save ORIGINALYEAR and LABEL/PUBLISHER.

Can I make a simple script that will only write those two retrived fields with the new values?

Your answer will help me get a glimpse into Picard syntax and I can go from there.

Thanks much.

1 Like

Before trying this: give it a thorough testing on a variety of copies of your music!

You could use a script like this, that will prevent Picard writing these specific tags.
I believe the list is complete and correct, and contains all tags that Picard could write, but I am not 100% sure.
(maybe somebody could confirm)

Make sure to remove the entries from this list that you do want updated/written.
(and obviously: make sure that under Options > Tags you do not have ‘clear existing tags’ checked)

$unset(album)
$unset(albumartist)
$unset(albumartistsort)
$unset(albumsort)
$unset(arranger)
$unset(artist)
$unset(artistsort)
$unset(artists)
$unset(bpm)
$unset(comment)
$unset(compilation)
$unset(composer)
$unset(composersort)
$unset(conductor)
$unset(copyright)
$unset(originaldate)
$unset(originalyear)
$unset(date)
$unset(discnumber)
$unset(totaldiscs)
$unset(encodedby)
$unset(encodersettings)
$unset(engineer)
$unset(genre)
$unset(grouping)
$unset(key)
$unset(isrc)
$unset(label)
$unset(language)
$unset(lyricist)
$unset(lyrics)
$unset(media)
$unset(mixer)
$unset(djmixer)
$unset(remixer)
$unset(mood)
$unset(originalalbum)
$unset(originalartist)
$unset(performer:*)
$unset(podcast)
$unset(podcasturl)
$unset(producer)
$unset(discsubtitle)
$unset(subtitle)
$unset(title)
$unset(titlesort)
$unset(tracknumber)
$unset(totaltracks)
$unset(work)
$unset(website)