Why is Musicbrainz not linked in DBPedia Resources

Hello,

I am new to linked data, and i often dont understand, that it is said, that so many databases are linked to each but i have problem to see those links. On your side i see a lot of links to other sides like here: https://musicbrainz.org/artist/d87e52c5-bb8d-4da8-b941-9f4928627dc8
But dbpedia as a database hub although claiming it is liked to Musicbrainz, i cannot see any connections on their resources page through owl:sameas property or anywhere else. http://dbpedia.org/page/ABBA

I would be very happy if anybody can explain this.

Thanks a lot. :slight_smile:

I would think you need to ask dpbedia that question.

MB is a friendly place that wants to share with everyone…

Notice how when you follow most of the links you don’t have any link back again. IMHO too many other sites are too concerned with traffic and dragging people into their own site and forget to share the links in both directions.

MB is more into making sure the data is correct, so lets us the user add links to other places we are cross checking. More about data than SEO.

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer. But DBPedia is claiming to be linked to MB. Is that a wrong claim?

Also my question is, when i use the Sparql query service from DbPedia, if i am able to get information from MB? Isnt that the whole point of linked data, that i can get all relevant information from one focal point instead of searching through multiple different databases?

What does “DBPedia is claiming to be linked to MB” mean in their language?

I assume they are just saying they take some data from here - like so many other database also do.

At least with Wikidata you get to see all the links they are making in one place. They let you go back and forth between the different sources. Actually CREDITING the source. They seem like a better start point for a single focus

MB wants to actively CHECK the sources and everything is available for anyone to do that.