What would I call myself as a MB editor? (for a resume)

Sorry if this isn’t the right category - I’ve used this site for years and the time has come for me to make a resume. I was stuck without a full license for a while (until quarantine, of course) so I’ve never had a job or have been able to do volunteer work. Thus, I’m making my music career - and my work here as things to put on resume.

Put simply, what can I call myself? I’m thinking “Volunteer Data Clerk for MusicBrainz” but I don’t know if that’s too vague, if I should specify what MusicBrainz is etc etc…

I’ve never done this before, sorry. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Ohh, that sounds great imo

2 Likes

Ahhh thank you! Just for someone else’s input - should I specify what MusicBrainz is? Like - in simpler terms “where the data from Google’s musical artist boxes comes from” or something along that line…I don’t know, but thank you still!

What is your education and at what kind of audience is your resume aimed? You might want to adapt your resume to the specific jobs you apply to, so you can tailor the description to emphasise a skill learned here that you think is relevant to the position you apply for.

5 Likes

I’d get in something about data quality manager, quality control. Find some way to put over that this place is about accurate data and you are also checking other people’s work as well as adding your own. An online club of musical fans and enthusiasts. Sell the quality and accuracy in the note about MB. “Peer reviewed database”.

1 Like

Music Data Archivist? Seems like archivist should show up in there somewhere to me!

2 Likes

Depends what you’re applying for?

If you just want it to sound impressive in a vague way you can steal blurbs from the MusicBrainz & MetaBrainz sites: