Unreleased but announced album

Is it good practice to preamptively create a release group for an album that’s already announced by the artist with some info but has yet to be released nor been announced the release date so that when it’s released, the release could just be put inside the release group?

I would say no, since a new release groups get created for a new release anyway if no suitable release group already exists, so adding beforehand helps no-one.

We’re not the nightly news, we don’t need up to the minute updates. In fact, Twitter often gets it wrong.

I have done it for specific instances, but I prefer that it not be done. In fact, when I was a WP editor, I would always argue against it.

2 Likes

Yeah, the WP:BALL policy there also discourages future events from being made. Alright, I’ll refrain from making it.

On the other hand, if something more concrete is already available (like a tracklist on the iTunes store or the like) we don’t need to wait until the official release date to add a release :slight_smile: In the same way, I wouldn’t be against adding a release group if there’s, say, an official album website to link to it (as opposed to just some info on the artist website). In most cases, for reasonably far-away albums, there won’t be enough info for a release group to even stick around though, since empty release groups get autoremoved :slight_smile:

Edit: a tracklist in some random Tweet by the artist or whatever I would not add though - but if it’s made it to a store as a preorder already, it’s usually quite annoying for the artist/label to change it, which means it’s at least not intended to change :smiley:

5 Likes

The argument against Crystall Ball for albums is -
if an album gets enough press, it is notable enough for an article. You just need to word things in certain ways, like saying “is scheduled for release” instead of “will be released”. Tracklists and genres are often left blank because of Too Soon.