Question about using MB on large number of files by processing groups of songs at a time

I am a total novice at using Musicbrainz and don’t fully understand how it works. I have a folder with a large number of music files that need tagging and sorting into folders. I can select a group of files at a time for it to process so that MB doesn’t choke on the whole folder of files. I assume that if I set MB to move files it will arrange them in folders by artist, album, etc. What I don’t understand is how it will work on subsequent groups of files that I give it to process. Will it know about previous folder groupings and use them to sort additional files? If there are instructions somewhere for how to process large sets of music files in batches I’d appreciate a pointer. Thanks.

First try and work with small batches of around 100 files or less.
It is a good idea to create a backup before you start just in case you don’t like the results.

Picard is designed to work with the musicbrainz database so a release needs to exist in the database for it to find it.
Disable all plugins first run, your aim should be trying to match the recording to an item in the database.
Once you have saved the file it will contain musicbrainz identifiers making it able to find the information again so later you can enable all the plugins you want to add more information.

A recording can be on multiple releases so you can find random compilations as well as the album or single by that artist so you should try and get as close as you can when tagging music.

Add a small number of files each run.
Click Cluster, this tries to group files by tags and should group songs from the same cd together.
Click the lookup button when selecting the cluster. This uses tags to match files in the database and should come up with a reasonable guess for the release.
Before saving make sure you have the right release, right click on the release on the right side and try and find the version you have.