Proper Album Artist and Recording Artist Credits for Children's Music

Hello folks!

I’m a new editor, and I’ve been submitting edits over the past few weeks. Mostly, they’re centered around children’s music that I’ve accumulated through my daughter taking music classes. I’m confused about how to handle the “Kindermusik” releases, specifically.

There were two releases already in the MB database when I started, though both were set to [unknown] (Special Purpose Artist) and credited to Kindermusik. I read through the Style Guide and didn’t see a prohibition on adding a new artist to cover these releases, so I added a “Kindermusik” artist and a “Kindermusik” label to make it easier to group them.

Then, I added additional releases under that new artist and new label. I’ve submitted edits to an existing album (DewDrops - https://musicbrainz.org/release/a345e75e-fa98-45a7-8183-d843c3bd9fd0), but it’s been voted down by paulakreuzer referencing edit #59559282.

That edit by CyberSkull resulted in a 2-2 split, and failed by not reaching the minimum threshold.

I want to be consistent, but I’m not sure how to proceed. Either the “Kindermusik” artist should be removed and everything reset to [unknown], or the [unknown] SPA credit should be allowed to change to my newly-added artist.

If “Rockabye Baby” and “KidzBop” can be considered artists, why not “Kindermusik”?

Hi

Please forgive me, though it may offend you by a vague writing.

If it was published from this company, in my feeling the “Label” is good in “kindeumsik”.

But I feel skeptical about the “Artist”.

What about “London bridge”?

“London Bridge is Broken domain” is [unknown].
Of course, “Head, shoulders, Knees and toes” are also [unknown], right?

So what if the lyrics are a little changed on the “kindelum” CD, and the “Head, shoulders, elbow and heel”?

If the CD card does not have a lyric author or arranger name, then unknown may be appropriate.