Picard is extremely slow on larger amount of songs

Hi.
I’m new to Picard and think it’s a great program, as i got many mp3s with kinda wrong tags or partially no tags at all and it works pretty well recognizing them by “analyzing the fingerprint”.

But my huge problem is: my song library consists of like 120000 Songs. Kinda 1/3 of them are taggeg correctly and i try to do the other 2/3, but as i drag in more than 300 songs into the left pane with uncategorized songs, it takes me a lot of time, until they are shown and so long Picard is just frozen.
Even worse: after they are in, and i’m saying “analyze”, Picard starts to sort them into the right pane, and just freezes after the list is as big as the screen.
I’ve thought it’s just slow and let it run for other 2h, but nothing happens anymore.

For analogy: when i do exatly the same with like 200 songs at a time, it’s still pretty slow, but the work is done in less than 15 minutes.
Also with like 100 songs Picard needs just a few seconds.

Seems like it can’t handle such amounts, which i do not think are “huge” at all.

PS: Using Picard on Windows 10 1803 x64, got 32GB Ram and 500GB SSD, so the hardware should not be too weak.

Is there any workaround, so i could do at least like 1000 songs at a time? Would save me a lot of work

Have a look at the above post and then see if you can find out how to turn off logging - the following approach from that thread might be all that is actually do-able as far as “switching off logging”;

“MetaTunes
Feb 12
Not sure you can turn it off, but you can make sure that the “debug mode” box is not checked (go to Help->View Error/Debug log).”

1 Like

This problem also occurs in the latest development release of Picard 2.0:

Mostly you get the answer:
Picard is made to process album by album, not collections, not x hundreds or thousands songs