Newbie question about merging


#1

I created the following work:

then quickly realised that it already existed here:

Ideally I’d like to delete the work I created, but I couldn’t see a way of doing that, so I requested that my newly created work be merged into the older one:

What will happen if no one votes? Will my merge request disappear?

Is there any way to delete the work I created? That would be my preferred solution.


#2

If nobody votes, the edit will go through after six days (unless the data quality is set to high, but nobody uses that feature). Merging is preferred to deleting, because then old links won’t become unavailable.


#3

IIRC, the data quality settings don’t affect voting anymore, they’re just informative.