How to correctly tag cover albums?

Hey all. I am a new editor and want to make sure that I do this right. I have an album of covers (that is, an artist playing other artists songs) and in the track names there is a disambiguation of who the original artist is. For example, one track is called We Didn’t Start The Fire (Originally by Billy Joel).

Would I exclude the parentheses in this case or include them in track name? If I were to exclude them, could I add this information elsewhere?

Thank you!

5 Likes

Hello and welcome on MB, always great to see newcomers :wink:
Yes, you could ad this information in the disambiguation field. And you can also use the Relationship Types / Recording-Work / Performance that link this recording to the original work as cover, few examples are available in the documentation but we are here if you need helps.

2 Likes

Putting this information into the disambiguation field feels unnecessary when we have proper performance relationships (since the idea of disambiguation comments is just to help in differentiating identically or confusingly named recordings).

You can take a look at the Work page for We Didn’t Start the Fire for some other cover recordings of it and how they’re entered into the database, btw.

3 Likes

Totally agree, but managing with relationship isn’t easy to begin and also time consuming. If @RetroPunk doesn’t have the time, it remains a solution to get the information in the meantime.

3 Likes

Thank you both for the information, I think this is exactly what I’m looking for. Would you mind checking my addition and seeing if everything looks right? https://musicbrainz.org/release/501e4903-10be-42d3-a53e-e765f5aa3026

4 Likes

Perfect, thank for the addition. As you own it, maybe you can also add AcoustID fingerprinter and if you don’t know about it there is also another project AcousticBrainz to submit even more information about these tracks.

3 Likes