Help understanding Picard naming script system for noob

Hi guys, i’m new to MusicBrainz Picard and i’m trying to understand how the naming script is working and the only things i found on internet was pretty advanced stuff.

First thing first, just to understand the default value in the program :

$if2(%albumartist%,%artist%)/$if($ne(%albumartist%,),%album%/)$if($gt(%totaldiscs%,1),%discnumber%-,)$if($ne(%albumartist%,),$num(%tracknumber%,2) ,)$if(%_multiartist%,%artist% - ,)%title%

I found this :

$if2(a1,a2,a3,...)

Returns first non empty argument.

$if(if,then,else)

If if is not empty, it returns then, otherwise it returns else.

$ne(x,y)

Returns true, if x not equals y.

$gt(x,y)

Returns true, if x is greater than y.

$num(num,len)

Returns num formatted to len digits.

But i still don’t really understand what does it do.

In the end i want to move all my music into a new folder called Music and all my music sorted like that :

Music\Artist\Year - Album\TrackNumber - Title

That does’t cover the case of multi artists albums or original sound track wich i would like sorted like that :

Music\OST - MoovieName\TrackNumber - Title

Can i have only one script to do all this or do i have to write one scrit for the artist’s mucis and one for the OST?

Well that last question is not my priority.

Thank you for your help.

1 Like

You actually got pretty far with looking up and understanding the individual function. Let’s just disassemble the default script then :slight_smile:

The first part is:

$if2(%albumartist%,%artist%)/