Extracting tracklisting information from tags?

Hi,
I’m a total noob with Musicbrainz Picard. I’ve been using it for a while to tag my music, with some success, but I also have a lot of records that are not in the database. I’ve been encouraged to add these to the database, and I’ve (obviously) signed up and have read a lot of the information as to how to go about it.

I get to the section of adding a release where you enter the tracklist and it says you can copy and paste it from somewhere else. My “somewhere else” is either the filename itself, or the information tagged to the file (accessible with mp3tag). I already have all the titles, I don’t want to type it all in manually. I could cut and paste from the mp3tag tagger, but it has other information not just the track titles and I don’t know how to just extract the title and not the other stuff (such as path to the file on my computer).

Can anyone please give me some guidance as to how to copy the track information from the tags into musicbrainz without retyping it? thanks.

Try Picard with the Add Cluster As Release plugin installed.

Once installed, load the files into Picard and hit a cluster. Picard will try to cluster the files by album. Right click the cluster and select Plugins > Add Cluster As Release. Picard will open the MusicBrainz release editor in the browser with the tracklist prefilled.

Thanks, that helps. Is there a way to save when you are trying to enter the information so that you don’t lose everything? It’s telling me I’ve done something wrong, and I need to do some more reading to figure out what.

What is “It” here? Picard? MusicBrainz?

Does it give any kind of error message? Can you take a screenshot of it?