Blemished cover art submission protocol

I just obtained a few dozen CD releases with the previous owners ID written with a felt tip marker and or small scrape on the mediums. These are dime size and are usually not hiding any critical art. So should I go ahead and scan and submit them when I am entering a new release or adding the medium scan to an existing one? A couple are not found on MB, Discogs etc… I’m not very good at trying to correct them with gimp/paint, etc… In the past, I have tried different means to remove such marks with “Goof Off”, isopropyl alcohol, etc., with varied results including creating more damage. Like all of you, I try to keep them as pristine as possible. As always, guidance is welcome.:smiley:

4 Likes

I have a few of those, where the previous owner clipped a corner, or * shudder* made an indent in the spine with a fretsaw.

I’d just upload them with a note in the comment box. Especially if no artwork exists yet for that entry.

7 Likes

Those are not done by previous owners per se; those are deletion marks made by the manufacturer.

Same. I have a few releases with such marks; they’re so rare that it would be extremely hard/expensive to find un-remaindered copies.
Here’s one for which I uploaded cover art even though it was remaindered:

6 Likes

A bad picture of the actual release is better than one of another release, or none at all. I would correct blemishes had I time for it, now only doing a visible cut-out of things like previous owner name and address. STYLE-939 Cover art attribute: Suboptimal would be an easy marker. (The recently added ‘Raw/unedited’ iMO is for raw pictures of objects otherwise fine, not fine pictures or blemished objects.)

6 Likes

I never considered that. Interesting, thanks.

1 Like

“would correct blemishes”

If anyone “correcting blemishes” could also upload their uncorrected scan and comment it as such then archivistic people and display people will all be grateful.

4 Likes