Automatically accepted edit from new user

musicbrainz
help
editing
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f646ef9d2e0> #<Tag:0x00007f646ef9cd90> #<Tag:0x00007f646ef9c480>

Hello everyone,

I am new to MusicBrainz and added some relationships (producer, instruments etc.) to one recording. My edits got ‘automatically accepted’ 5 seconds after I clicked ‘Enter edit’ and I am wondering if that is normal?

I read the style guidelines and I’m sure that my edits are correct because I took the information from the liner notes.

Do I always have to check the ‘Make all edits votable’ checkbox to activate the voting process? I could not find any helpful information on this topic in the documentation. I hope I did not miss something.

My edit is listed under ‘auto edits’ on my profile page, but that is not what I wanted. Is there a way to check if the edit was accepted by an auto editor. I thought auto editing is auomatically blocked for new users and that voting is activated by default?

I would like a clarification before I make any further edits. Thank you in advance.

Have a look at Introduction to Voting (which can be accessed via the Editing FAQ). Additions and some modifications can be automatically applied if approved by an auto-editor, depending on the edit type. For your example, adding a relationship can be approved.

Hello,

thanks for your reply. I already read most of the sections you linked, but I missed the ‘can be approved’ part on the ‘add relationship’ page. In addition the Introduction to Editing page states that some edits can be automatically applied if approved, but I thought this is mostly true for minor changes like ‘a change in capitalization in a title’. I was surprised, because my edit was accepted almost instantly.

Thanks for the clarification and the links.