Accepted Edits for Recording Not Propagated

I recently corrected a release’s name and it was accepted, but the change didn’t seem to propagate out to all the albums containing the release.

Here’s the first example: https://musicbrainz.org/recording/200fe16c-03bb-4ab5-b261-49f04bbe2b42
I corrected “Who Am I (What’s My Name?)” to “Who Am I (What’s My Name)?”. Note the position of the question mark. The Release name was changed upon acceptance, but you can see that the albums associated aren’t updated.

I’m new at this, so I’m not sure if I did something wrong. Can some one explain this to me?

Thanks!

What you changed is a Track and its associated Recording. But since each tracklist/Medium have their own sets of Track names separate from the Recording names, changes to the Recording do not propagate to all the Tracks the Recording is associated with.

E.g., if a Release has “Awesome Track (single version)” listed on the track lasting, the Recording might only be called “Awesome Track” (maybe with “single version” as disambiguation).

So if you want all Tracks to have the fixed question mark, you need to fix every Release using the Recording. Note however that Release where the question mark is inside the parenthesis on the cover’s track listing should maybe also be listed like that in MusicBrainz.

(Sorry if this is all too technical. Maybe someone can explain it in a simple manner. :confused: )

2 Likes

Rock and Roll All Night by Kiss is a good example of why it may be best not to change every listing automatically…
There’s a dozen different spellings that appear on various albums.

Ah Ok. I see. I just started looking through all the albums and it seems that the Recording should be how I corrected it, but there are some compilation albums that have question mark inside the parenthesis. I’ll go through and make edits to make all the albums correct. :slight_smile:

1 Like